“crime in progress. please disturb” oh sherlock

sherlock

Now, here’s a show that a friend recommended to me quite a bit ago, a couple of years back. She spoke highly of it, so highly in fact that right then and there we sat down and watched the first episode, so I could admire the greatness of it right away. And I came away thinking, so this is where all the good show writers went! This is where intrigue and mystery make their home in the plot! This is where the actors can coincide with their characters so brilliantly! This is Sherlock!

It is a show surrounding the solving of cases by an amateur detective called Sherlock Holmes and his friend and blogger John Watson, set in modern day London. Its cases are based off of almost entirely Arthur Conan Doyle’s works, except updating them so as to fit the contemporary time. The writers, the actors, and even the cinematography add to the show so that, in my opinion, it’s entertainment, even educational, scales are off the charts.

Watson was an army doctor. He was shot in the arm, but because of a mental disorder that was caused by the war, he walks with a limp. At least that’s how his psychologist explained it. He told a friend that he needed a flatmate and couldn’t find one, and that friend thought of another man who had told him the same thing just a little while before that day. And of course, that man was Sherlock.

Sherlock is a know-it-all annoyance. Is, mind you, not was. And that is how all on the police force think of him. He is an amateur detective, always coming in and telling them how to solve their cases. Yes, he does seem to know everything about an investigation instantly just by observation and reflection. And yes, it is uncanny. Does he have problems making friends because of his frustrating personality? Yes. Does he find an exception of this in John Watson? Well, watch and see for yourself.

* Watson: Is that a head? Sherlock: Just tea for me, thanks. Watson: No, there’s a head in the fridge. Sherlock: Yes. Watson: A bloody head! Sherlock: Well where else was I supposed to put it? You don’t mind do you? Got it from Bart’s morgue. I’m measuring the coagulation of saliva after death.

* Watson: I just met a friend of yours. Sherlock surprised: A friend? Watson: An enemy.Sherlock: Oh! Which one? Watson: Your archenemy, according to him. Do people have archenemies? Sherlock: Did he offer you money to spy on me? Watson: Yes. Sherlock: Did you take it? Watson: No.Sherlock: Pity, we could have split the fee. Think it through next time.

* Watson: Punch you? Sherlock: Yes. Punch me. In the face. Didn’t you hear me? Watson: I always hear “punch me in the face” when you’re speaking, but it’s usually subtext.

* Sherlock: Listen. What I said before, John, I meant it. I don’t have friends. I’ve just got one. Watson: Right. {he keeps walking away} Sherlock: John? John! You are amazing! You are fantastic! Watson: Yes, alright. Don’t have to overdo it. Sherlock: You’ve never been the most luminous of people, but as a conductor of light you are unbeatable. Watson: Cheers. What? Sherlock: Some people who aren’t geniuses have an amazing ability to stimulate it in others. Watson: Hang on, you were saying sorry a minute ago. Don’t spoil it.

* Lestrade: And there’s one person we have to thank for giving us the decisive leads. With all his customary diplomacy and tact. Watson: Sarcasm. Sherlock: Yes.

* Watson: Remember— Sherlock: Yes. Watson: Remember what they told you. Don’t try to be clever— Sherlock: I know. Watson: —and please just keep it simple and brief. Sherlock: I’m confident a star witness at a trial should come across as intelligent. Watson: Intelligent, fine. Let’s give smartass a wide berth. Sherlock: I’ll just be myself. Watson: Are you listening to me?

* Potential Client 1: My wife seems to be spending a very long time at the office. Sherlock: Boring! Potential Client 2: I think my husband might be having an affair. Sherlock:Yes. Potential Client 3: We have this web site. It explains the true meaning of comic books, ’cause people miss a lot of the themes. {Sherlock prepares to leave} But then all of the comic books start coming true. Sherlock: Oh. Interesting.

* Watson: Can we not do this this time? Sherlock: Do what? Watson: You being all mysterious with your cheekbones and turning your coat collar up so you look cool. Sherlock: I don’t do that. Watson:Yeah, you do.

Leave a Reply

