good ol’ songs, ya know

music

Some of these songs are what I and others would call “alternative rock”, which is a slower and more funky rock sound. Others, however, are slow songs or ballads. I tried to put on the list songs that I felt had meaning and a good melody, instead of just one or the other.

*Welcome to the Black Parade- My Chemical Romance- “do or die, you’ll never make me, because the world will never take my heart, go and try, you’ll never break me”

*Time of Our Lives- Tyrone Wells– “and I will not forget the faces left behind, it’s hard to walk away from the best of days, but if it has to end I’m glad you have been my friend, in the times of our lives”

*Calls Me Home- Shannon LaBrie- “it’s funny how the walk of life can take you down without a fight, so many years can leave behind regretfully until it’s time to realize the moment when you turn around”

*Fix You- Coldplay- “when you try your best but you don’t succeed, when you get what you want but not what you need, when you feel so tired but you can’t sleep, stuck in reverse” “lights will guide you home and ignite your bones and I will try to fix you”

*We Come Running- Youngblood Hawkes- “headed for the open door, tell me what you’re waiting for, look across the great divide, soon they’re gonna hear the sound, when we come running”

*Demons- Imagine Dragons- “when the days are cold, and the cards all fold, and the saints we see are all made of gold, when your dreams all fail, and the ones we hail are the worst of all” “I wanna hide the truth, I wanna shelter you, but with the beast inside there’s nowhere we can hide”

*Walk- Foo Fighters- “I never want to leave, I’ll never say goodbye”

*More Than Life- Whitley- “the pain that comes today is here, then goes away, and we are homeward bound, and I want this more than life”

Paradise- Coldplay- “when she was a girl she expected the world, but it flew away from her reach so she ran away in her sleep, and dreamed of paradise, every time she closed her eyes” “the sun must set to rise”

*Keep Your Eyes Open- Need to Breathe- “’cause if you never leave home, never let go, you’ll never make it to the great unknown” “tell me you’re strong tell me you see, I need to hear it, can you promise me to keep your eyes open”

*All We Are- OneRepublic- “we won’t break, we won’t die, it’s just a moment of change, all we are is everything that’s right”

Clocks- Coldplay- “confusion never stops, closing walls and ticking clocks, gonna come back and take you home, I could not stop what you now know”

*Where We Belong- Thriving Ivory-“we’re too far out, we’re in too deep, and we’ve got miles to go before we can sleep, I said we’ve been walking a thin line” “don’t let go, no it’s not too late you know” “we’re going back where we belong”

Leave a Reply

