the perks (and not so perks) of being a wallflower

theperksbook The Perks Of Being A Wallflower. Called a inspiring cult classic. Called a book that should be banned and, in some places, is. But it’s a very good, very strong book. I’m not sure if I can even properly do it justice by a summary actually. Which in fact is saying a lot. So here are just some quotes.

“Sometimes people use thought to not participate in life.”

“Things change. And friends leave. Life doesn’t stop for anybody.”

“So, I guess we are who we are for a lot of reasons. And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.”

“There’s nothing like deep breaths after laughing that hard. Nothing in the world like a sore stomach for the right reasons.”

“I think that if I ever have kids, and they are upset, I won’t tell them that people are starving in China or anything like that because it wouldn’t change the fact that they were upset. And even if somebody else has it much worse, that doesn’t really change the fact that you have what you have.”

“Enjoy it. Because it’s happening.”

“And all the books you’ve read have been read by other people. And all the songs you’ve loved have been heard by other people. And that girl that’s pretty to you is pretty to other people. and that if you looked at these facts when you were happy, you would feel great because you are describing ‘unity.”

“I walk around the school hallways and look at the people. I look at the teachers and wonder why they’re here. If they like their jobs. Or us. And I wonder how smart they were when they were fifteen. Not in a mean way. In a curious way. It’s like looking at all the students and wondering who’s had their heart broken that day, and how they are able to cope with having three quizzes and a book report due on top of that. Or wondering who did the heart breaking. And wondering why.”

“I don’t even remember the season. I just remember walking between them and feeling for the first time that I belonged somewhere.”

“So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that can be.”

“The inside jokes weren’t jokes anymore. They had become stories. Nobody brought up the bad names or the bad times. And nobody felt sad as long as we could postpone tomorrow with more nostalgia. ”

“I just hope I remember to tell my kids that they are as happy as I look in my old photographs. And I hope that they believe me.”

“Not everyone has a sob story, Charlie, and even if they do, it’s no excuse.”

“Sam and Patrick looked at me. And I looked at them. And I think they knew. Not anything specific really. They just knew. And I think that’s all you can ever ask from a friend.”

“Downtown. Lights on buildings and everything that makes you wonder. And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.”

Leave a Reply

