you’ve heard about the fault in our stars

thefaultinourstars The Fault In Our Stars. Let me open with this quote. “Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” I do not feel this way about this book. But it wouldn’t hurt if you did read it either, because it’s well done. Not to surprise you or anything, but here are more quotes.

“That’s the thing about pain,” Augustus said, and then glanced back at me. “It demands to be felt.”

“And I wondered if hurdlers ever thought, you know, ‘This would go faster if we just got rid of the hurdles.”

“Ma’am,’ Augustus said, nodding toward her, “Your daughter’s car has just been deservingly egged by a blind man. Please close the door and go back inside or we’ll be forced to call the police.”

“I’m on a roller coaster that only goes up, my friend.”

“The marks humans leave are too often scars.”

“Augustus, perhaps you’d like to share your fears with the group.” “My fears?” “Yes.” “I fear oblivion,” he said without a moment’s pause. “I fear it like the proverbial blind man who’s afraid of the dark.” “Too soon,” Isaac said, cracking a smile. “Was that insensitive?” Augustus asked. “I can be pretty blind to other people’s feelings.”

“The world is not a wish-granting factory.”

“Without pain, how could we know joy?’ This is an old argument in the field of thinking about suffering and its stupidity and lack of sophistication could be plumbed for centuries but suffice it to say that the existence of broccoli does not, in any way, affect the taste of chocolate.”

“I’ve gotten really hot since you went blind.”

“Some tourists think Amsterdam is a city of sin, but in truth it is a city of freedom. And in freedom, most people find sin.”

“It’s a metaphor, see: You put the killing thing right between your teeth, but you don’t give it the power to do its killing.”

“You have a choice in this world, I believe, about how to tell sad stories, and we made the funny choice.”

“I was blind and heart broken and didn’t want to do anything and Gus burst into my room and shouted, “I have wonderful news!” And I was like, “I don’t really want to hear wonderful news right now,” and Gus said, “This is wonderful news you want to hear,” and I asked him, “Fine, what is it?” and he said, “You are going to live a good and long life filled with great and terrible moments that you cannot even imagine yet!”

“Tell me my copy is missing the last twenty pages or something. Hazel Grace, tell me I have not reached the end of this book. OH MY GOD DO THEY GET MARRIED OR NOT OH MY GOD WHAT IS THIS?!”

“Come over here so I can examine your face with my hands and see deeper into your soul than a sighted person ever could.”

“You do not immortalize the lost by writing about them. Language buries, but does not resurrect.”

Oh, and if you’ve read this book and liked it, read “Looking For Alaska”, also by John Green, also quite good.

Leave a Reply

